Ireland gambling law updates
Official changes to Ireland’s gambling rules and its regulators’ enforcement decisions, by official date, newest first, each checked against the official document. Last change listed 14 Oct 2026.
Country: Ireland
20 updates
October 2026
- In our reportLaw change🇮🇪 IrelandRecords and accounts rules for licensees (S.I. No. 513 of 2026)
The Gambling Regulatory Authority of Ireland has made regulations setting out the records and accounts licensees must keep and maintain. The notice gives no commencement date, and the regulations' own text was not yet on the Irish Statute Book on 13 Oct 2026.
Official words and status
“makes the above Regulations setting out the records and accounts licensees”
- Document
- S.I. No. 513 of 2026: Gambling Regulation Act 2024 (Records and Accounts) Regulations 2026
- Our report
- Our report reflects this (report of 14 Oct 2026)
- In our reportProposed🇮🇪 IrelandDraft account-holder alerts for remote licensees (notification 2026/0549/IE)
The Gambling Regulatory Authority of Ireland has notified a draft regulation requiring remote licensees to send account-holders pop-up alerts every 60 minutes while logged in, plus 7-day and 30-day alerts, showing winnings, losses and time spent. It is not law yet and no commencement date is set; the standstill runs until 11 Jan 2027.
Official words and status
“Ireland: GAMBLING REGULATION ACT 2024 (PROVISION OF INFORMATION TO ACCOUNT-HOLDERS) REGULATIONS 2026”
- Document
- Ireland: GAMBLING REGULATION ACT 2024 (PROVISION OF INFORMATION TO ACCOUNT-HOLDERS) REGULATIONS 2026
- Our report
- Our report reflects this (report of 14 Oct 2026)
September 2026
- In our reportLaw change🇮🇪 IrelandAppeals Panel fees of €1,000 and €1,500 (S.I. 482/2026)
An appeal to the Appeals Panel costs €1,000 against a GRAI decision on pool-betting events (s. 114(5), s. 117(5)) or on adding a premises (s. 116), and €1,500 against a finding in a notice of non-compliance or an advice, caution, warning or reprimand (s. 193); the fee is refunded if the appeal succeeds. It applies to remote licensees as well. Made by the GRAI with the Minister for Justice's consent on 17 September 2026; the text gives no commencement date.
Official words and status
“The fee payable on bringing an appeal to the Appeals Panel under Part 9 of the Act of 2024 against a decision of the Authority under section 114(5) of the Act of 2024 is €1,000 (which fee shall be refundable if the appeal is successful).”
- Document
- Gambling (Appeal Fees) Regulations 2026
- Our report
- Our report reflects this (report of 14 Oct 2026)
- In our reportLaw change🇮🇪 IrelandPool-betting variation fees for betting licences, online included (S.I. 481/2026)
A betting licensee, remote and remote intermediary licences included, pays €1,250 to change the events it is licensed to offer pool betting on, or 25% of the fee paid on its original licence application (excluding per-premises fees) to add pool betting it did not apply for.
Official words and status
“The fee payable on the making of an application by a licensee of a betting licence under section 117(3)(a) of the Act of 2024 to vary the event, series of events or class of events in respect of which the licensee has been licensed to provide pool betting is €1,250.”
- Also
- Made by the GRAI with the Minister for Justice's consent on 17 September 2026; the text gives no commencement date.
- Document
- Gambling (Licence Variation) Regulations 2026
- Our report
- Our report reflects this (report of 14 Oct 2026)
- In our reportLaw change🇮🇪 Ireland€1,200 fee to add a premises to a land-based gambling licence (S.I. 480/2026)Land-based
Land-based only. A holder of an in-person gambling licence pays €1,200 for each premises it applies to add to its licence under s. 116 of the Gambling Regulation Act 2024. Online licences are not affected.
Official words and status
“The fee payable on the making of an application by a licensee of an in-person gambling licence under section 116(1) of the Act of 2024 to provide a relevant gambling activity from a premises that is not specified in the licence concerned is €1,200 for each additional premises from where the relevant gambling activity is proposed to be provided.”
- Also
- Made by the GRAI with the Minister for Justice's consent on 17 September 2026; the text gives no commencement date.
- Document
- Gambling (Addition of Premises) Regulations 2026
- Our report
- Our report reflects this (report of 14 Oct 2026)
- Report pendingLaw change🇮🇪 IrelandOpening hours and no alcohol for land-based betting shops (S.I. 477/2026)Land-based
Land-based only. Premises held under an in-person betting licence, other than on-course (relevant) premises, must close on Christmas Day and Good Friday, may open only from 7am to 10pm on other days, and may not sell alcohol. The GRAI made the regulations on 17 September 2026; the text gives no commencement date. Online betting is not affected.
Official words and status
“A premises, other than a relevant premises, in respect of which an in-person betting licence is held shall not be open for business”
- Document
- Gambling (Opening Hours and Use of Premises) Regulations 2026
- Our report
- Not yet in our report
- Status
- Accepted as a law change on 14 Oct 2026; the next Ireland research pass rewrites the answers it touches from the official text.
July 2026
- In our reportLaw change🇮🇪 IrelandFirst GRAI remote betting licences take effect
Licences for remote operators took effect on 1 July 2026, the first licences the GRAI issued under the 2024 Act.
Document and status
- Document
- GRAI news, 30 June 2026
- Our report
- Our report reflects this (report of 21 Oct 2026)
June 2026
- In our reportLaw change🇮🇪 IrelandSocial Impact Fund sections in force
Sections 51, 54 and 55 (the Social Impact Fund) came into force on 30 June 2026 (S.I. No. 304 of 2026); the contribution rate is still to be set.
Document and status
- Document
- S.I. No. 304/2026, Commencement (No. 2) Order
- Our report
- Our report reflects this (report of 21 Oct 2026)
February 2026
- In our reportLaw change🇮🇪 IrelandGRAI opens betting licence applications
Applications for in-person betting, remote betting and remote betting intermediary licences opened on 9 February 2026 and remain open.
Document and status
- Document
- GRAI news, 9 February 2026
- Our report
- Our report reflects this (report of 21 Oct 2026)
- In our reportLaw change🇮🇪 IrelandLicensing, enforcement and the credit-card ban in force
S.I. No. 31 of 2026 brought most licensing provisions (not gaming, lottery, charitable or B2B licences), complaints, enforcement, appeals and the repeal of the Betting Act 1931 into force on 5 February 2026. The ban on accepting credit-card payments applies from the same day, and the GRAI can impose fines of up to €20 million or 10% of turnover.
Document and status
- Document
- S.I. No. 31/2026, Commencement Order
- Our report
- Our report reflects this (report of 21 Oct 2026)
January 2026
- In our reportLaw change🇮🇪 IrelandFirst amendments to the 2024 Act in force
Amendments made by the Courts and Civil Law (Miscellaneous Provisions) Act 2025 took effect on 30 January 2026 (S.I. No. 21 of 2026). Among them, a B2C licence whose renewal is still undecided when it expires stays in force until the renewal is decided (s.115(5)).
Document and status
- Document
- S.I. No. 21/2026, Commencement Order
- Our report
- Our report reflects this (report of 21 Oct 2026)
March 2025
- In our reportLaw change🇮🇪 IrelandGambling Regulatory Authority of Ireland established
S.I. No. 58 of 2025 fixed 5 March 2025 as the establishment day of the GRAI, Ireland's gambling regulator.
Document and status
- Document
- S.I. No. 58/2025, Establishment Day Order
- Our report
- Our report reflects this (report of 21 Oct 2026)
October 2024
- In our reportLaw change🇮🇪 IrelandGambling Regulation Act 2024 enacted
The Act that created the GRAI and its licensing system was enacted on 23 October 2024 and comes into force in stages, by commencement order.
Document and status
- Document
- Irish Statute Book: commencement table of the 2024 Act
- Our report
- Our report reflects this (report of 21 Oct 2026)
- In our reportLaw change🇮🇪 IrelandBan on targeted inducements and on sponsorship aimed at children: not yet in force
Section 157 will bar offering an inducement to a person or a specific group of persons; the GRAI's guidance gives free bets for selected loyal customers and volume-based loyalty rewards as examples. Section 159 will bar sponsorship aimed at children. Neither is commenced, and no inducement regulations under s.157(4) have been made.
Document and status
- Document
- Gambling Regulation Act 2024, ss.157 and 159 (not yet commenced)
- Our report
- Our report reflects this (report of 21 Oct 2026)
- In our reportLaw change🇮🇪 IrelandAdvertising rules, with a 5:30 a.m. to 9:00 p.m. broadcast watershed: not yet in force
Sections 143-151 are not yet commenced. Once they are, a licensee may not arrange advertising with a broadcaster or on-demand service between 5:30 a.m. and 9:00 p.m. (s.149), and may advertise on social media only to people who have subscribed to its account (s.146). Until then the broadcasters' code applies, with the ASA Code as self-regulation.
Document and status
- Document
- Gambling Regulation Act 2024, ss.143-151 (not yet commenced)
- Our report
- Our report reflects this (report of 21 Oct 2026)
- In our reportLaw change🇮🇪 IrelandNational Gambling Exclusion Register: not yet in force
Sections 44-49, which set up the register, are not yet commenced and no date is set. Once they are, a remote licensee must be able to view the register in real time, and one that cannot must not provide remote gambling to a registered person.
Document and status
- Document
- Irish Statute Book: commencement table of the 2024 Act
- Our report
- Our report reflects this (report of 21 Oct 2026)
Date not stated
- Date not statedIn our reportLaw change🇮🇪 IrelandSocial Impact Fund contribution and operational charge: rates not yet set
Every licensee will pay an annual Social Impact Fund contribution, a percentage of turnover (s.54, in force since 30 June 2026), and the GRAI's operational charge (s.41). Neither amount has been set: the Minister's rate regulations and the charge have not been made.
Document and status
- Document
- Irish Statute Book: statutory instruments of 2026
- Our report
- Our report reflects this (report of 21 Oct 2026)
- Date not statedIn our reportLaw change🇮🇪 IrelandLottery and charitable licences: applications expected in 2028
Sections 87 and 88 (lottery and charitable licences) are not yet in force, and the GRAI's compliance FAQ gives 2028 for both. Until then lottery licences come from the District Courts and lottery permits from An Garda Síochána.
Document and status
- Document
- GRAI compliance FAQ: licence application timetable
- Our report
- Our report reflects this (report of 21 Oct 2026)
- Date not statedIn our reportLaw change🇮🇪 IrelandB2B licence for suppliers: applications expected in 2028
Once s.70 commences, selling or supplying gambling products or services needs a B2B licence, and products need certification (ss.123-124). Neither is in force and no B2B licence is required today; the GRAI's compliance FAQ gives 2028 for B2B applications, and a supplier already in the market must apply within 6 months of s.125 commencing to keep supplying.
Document and status
- Document
- GRAI compliance FAQ: licence application timetable
- Our report
- Our report reflects this (report of 21 Oct 2026)
- Date not statedIn our reportLaw change🇮🇪 IrelandGaming licences, online casino and poker included: applications expected in 2027
Section 86 of the Gambling Regulation Act 2024 (gaming licences) is not yet in force, so online casino and poker cannot yet be licensed by the GRAI. Its compliance FAQ gives 2027 for gaming licence applications.
Document and status
- Document
- GRAI compliance FAQ: licence application timetable
- Our report
- Our report reflects this (report of 21 Oct 2026)
Law change: laws, regulations and regulator decisions that have been adopted (19 in 1 country). Proposed: drafts and consultations on the way (1 in 1 country). Each item links to the official document and to the country page.
Our daily watch reads the official publishers we follow; a change is listed once it has been checked against the official document, by a person or, where marked, by our automated check. 1 of the 20 changes are confirmed in the official text but not yet in our report: the research report and the answers on the country page are rewritten in the next research pass.
Dates are the official dates, not the day we found the change or the decision. Informational only, not legal advice. Every country's full rules are on its page; start from the country list.