Skip to content
GamblingMapsBeta
Updates we track

Japan gambling law updates

Official changes to Japan’s gambling rules and its regulators’ enforcement decisions, by official date, newest first, each checked against the official document. Last change listed 9 Oct 2026.

Upcoming dates set in the official text, still ahead, soonest first

  1. Scheduled
    Second IR application windowLand-based

    A Cabinet Order sets a second window for IR area-plan applications, from 6 May to 5 November 2027.

    Proposal, not law yete-GovOfficial text

    In our report
    Document and status
    Our report
    Our report reflects this (report of 9 Oct 2026)

Date not stated

  1. Date not stated
    Osaka integrated resort targeted to open

    Osaka's IR area plan was certified on 14 April 2023; the operator targets opening around autumn 2030. No casino licence has been issued yet.

    Proposal, not law yetMLITOfficial text

    In our report
    Document and status
    Our report
    Our report reflects this (report of 9 Oct 2026)

Law change: laws, regulations and regulator decisions that have been adopted (0 in 0 countries). Proposed: drafts and consultations on the way (2 in 1 country). Each item links to the official document and to the country page.

Our daily watch reads the official publishers we follow; a change is listed once it has been checked against the official document, by a person or, where marked, by our automated check. A change can be confirmed in the official text but not yet in our report: the research report and the answers on the country page are rewritten in the next research pass.

Dates are the official dates, not the day we found the change or the decision. Informational only, not legal advice. Every country's full rules are on its page; start from the country list.